Subway Reading

I work at Child’s Play Communications and travel into New York City each day by subway, which takes about 30 minutes from where I live in Queens. On this particular day, I got a seat, which makes the ride very pleasant. I enjoy people watching immensely, and in New York City, well, there is always something to look at. Queens in a real melting pot and so I generally spot people of all different nationalities quietly reading their prayer books and murmuring aloud their prayers or counting rosary beads, to start their day on a positive and hopeful note. Others are immersed in juicy paperback novels by John Grisham, Nora Roberts, Dan Brown and the like. However, on this day, I glanced up and saw something unusual–a woman completely immersed in the classic, One Fish, Two Fish, Red Fish, Blue Fish by Dr. Seuss.

One Fish, Two Fish, Red Fish, Blue Fish makes a subway appearance

About The Playtime Mom

Unofficial NYC ambassador, play advocate, toy and youth entertainment industry insider and mom
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Subway Reading

  1. Michelle says:

    That is AWESOME! I love that book… that one and “Go Dog Go.” 😉
    But definitely a subway sight that makes you go “hmmmm.”

    I wonder if she is learning English and practicing to read to her child?

  2. The Playtime Mom says:

    Gee, I don’t know, but you could be right that she is learning English. Dr. Seuss books are great for that. My mom, a retired teacher, used Dr. Seuss books in that way. Just seeing this cracked me up, though as it was so unexpected, even in NYC!

Leave a Reply

